52 Hurricane Student-Athletes Named to Peach Belt Conference Honor Roll

Baseball leads with 12 honorees

52 Georgia Southwestern student-athletes representing the university's 10 varsity sports earned a spot on the Peach Belt Conference Presidential Honor Roll for the 2007-2008 academic year.  Three achieved a perfect 4.0 grade point average.

Baseball placed the greatest number of student-athletes on the list with 12.  The men's soccer squad had 10 members on the honor roll, an increase of three from 2006-2007.  Women's basketball was third with eight.  

Student-athletes must earn a 3.0 GPA or better to be eligible for the Presidential Honor Roll list.  For the first time, the Peach Belt Conference placed honorees into different levels based on GPA.  Gold Scholars achieved a 3.75 or better, Silver Scholars were in the 3.5 - 3.74 range, Bronze Scholars finished between 3.25 and 3.49 and Presidential Scholars completed the year between 3.0 and 3.24.

Listed below is the complete list of GSW academic honorees in the 2007-2008 Peach Belt Conference Presidential Honor Roll:

Gold Scholar (7) - Whitney Brown (Women's Soccer/Cross Country), Kelly Matthews (Women's Cross Country), Carter Meyer (Men's Soccer), Kassi Reneau (Softball), Laura Snyder (Women's Tennis), Jennifer Spradley (Softball) and Andrew Whiggum (Baseball)

Silver Scholar (17) - Jared Allen (Baseball), Kacey Barnard (Men's Soccer), Jessi Croft (Softball), Christian Dane (Men's Soccer), Whitney Dean (Women's Basketball), David "DJ" Decker (Baseball), Mitchell Doud (Men's Soccer), Colin Duffie (Baseball), Elizabeth Easton (Women's Basketball), Sarah Harrington (Women's Tennis), William Hayes (Men's Tennis), Stevi Korczyk (Women's Cross Country), Charles Pennington (Men's Golf), Michael Scott Phillips (Baseball), Yimi Reyes (Men's Soccer), Anthony Sargent (Men's Basketball) and Jody Sellars (Baseball)

Bronze Scholar (14) - Wes Adam (Men's Tennis), Robert Bartz (Men's Soccer), Anna Faust (Women's Tennis), Michael Harris (Men's Golf), Heather Renee Harvey (Women's Basketball), Elizabeth Keller (Women's Soccer), Thomas Patrick McCarthy (Baseball), Albert Reese Moseley (Men's Golf), Jordan Mullis (Baseball), Christopher Pollock (Men's Tennis), Brittany Reynolds (Women's Basketball), Jamilah Sharp (Women's Basketball), Daniel Stokes (Baseball) and Ashley Waters (Women's Tennis)

Presidential Scholar (14) - Jordan Britt (Men's Golf), Brynne Callaway (Women's Basketball), Tyler Daniel (Baseball), Andrew Jones (Men's Soccer), Talia Jones (Women's Basketball), Ryan Lackey (Baseball), Angela Lamb (Women's Basketball), Charles Miles Martin (Baseball), Tiffany Milstid (Softball), Amanda Morphis (Women's Soccer), Michael Moses (Men's Soccer), John Scharnikow (Men's Soccer), Jonathan Smith (Men's Soccer) and Miriam Blake West (Women's Tennis)