Academic Achievement Award Presented to 15 GSW Student-Athletes

Academic Achievement Award Presented to 15 GSW Student-Athletes

CLEVELAND, Ohio − Georgia Southwestern State University had 15 of its student-athletes recognized today as recipients of the 2011-12 Academic Achievement Award presented by the Division II Athletics Directors Association. The Academic Achievement Awards program recognizes the academic accomplishments of student-athletes at the NCAA Division II level.

Georgia Southwestern recipients include: softball players Gabby Buck and Brittny Dennison; baseball players Tyler Daniel, Jarrod Taylor and Randall Sheffield; men's tennis players Chris Eastwood, Stephen Moore and Matt Vansant; women's soccer players Brittney Hill and Katie Mueller; men's soccer players Ethan Vick, Erik Haygood and Kevin Huet; men's basketball player Milos Kleut and women's tennis and cross country standout Mollie McGowan.

GSW was one of seven Peach Belt Conference member institutions to have student-athletes honored. The PBC had a total of 166 student-athletes named to the list.

A record 118 Division II institutions sent in nominees for the 2011-12 Academic Achievement Awards, while a total of 4,492 student-athletes, also a new record, were recognized this year.

In order for a student-athlete to receive an Academic Achievement Award, the athletics director of the Division II institution must be a current dues paying member of the D2ADA. Also, the student-athlete must: 1) have a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or higher on a 4.0 scale; 2) have attended a minimum of two years (four semesters) of college level work; and 3) have been an active member of an intercollegiate team during his/her last academic year.

The D2ADA is the first organization of its kind to provide educational and networking opportunities; enhancement of acceptable operating standards and ethics; and establishment of the overall prestige and understanding of the profession of Division II athletics directors.