A Record 68 GSW Student-Athletes Named To PBC Presidential Honor Roll

A Record 68 GSW Student-Athletes Named To PBC Presidential Honor Roll

AMERICUS - The Peach Belt Conference announced Thursday afternoon that a record-breaking 1,384 student-athletes had been named to the 2012-13 Presidential Honor Roll with a total of 68 Georgia Southwestern student-athletes earning the honor, a three percent increase for GSW from last year's total and the highest total for the Hurricanes since joining the league in 2006.  

The Hurricane baseball team placed the greatest number of student-athletes on the list (16) for the second-straight year. The women's soccer program had 11 members recognized. Softball followed with nine.

The women's tennis team led all GSW programs for the second-straight year by placing an astounding 80 percent of its 10-player squad on the Presidential Honor Roll. Below is a list of the top five programs according to percentage of their roster receiving the PBC honor:

Rank Sport Percent of Athletes on Honor Roll
1 Women's Tennis 80.00
2 Women's Cross Country 71.43
Men's Tennis
4 Men's Golf 57.14
5 Baseball 55.17

The Presidential Honor Roll recognizes all student-athletes at the 14 PBC member institutions who had a GPA of 3.0 or higher for the academic year.

The honor roll has been divided into four groups: Presidential Scholars, Bronze Scholars, Silver Scholars and Gold Scholars. All student-athletes with a GPA from 3.0 to 3.24 are Presidential Scholars while Bronze Scholars are 3.25 to 3.49; Silver 3.50 to 3.74 and Gold Scholars are those with a 3.75 to 4.00.

Listed below is the complete list of GSW academic honorees in the 2012-13 Peach Belt Conference Presidential Honor Roll:

Gold Scholars (12): Earl Dupree (Baseball), Anders Olsson (Men's Golf), Chris Campos (Men's Golf), Kaitlin Wilkerson (Women's Cross Country), Jessi Young (Women's Cross Country), Jason Getreu (Men's Soccer), Erik Haygood (Men's Soccer), Kristi Sheridan (Women's Soccer), Hayley Knight (Softball), Elliott Martin (Softball), Erin Steele (Softball), Mollie McGowan (Women's Tennis and Cross Country)

Silver Scholars (23):  Frank Ambrosino (Baseball), Kevin Manos (Baseball), Randall Sheffield (Baseball), Jarrod Taylor (Baseball), Ian Andre (Men's Basketball), Milos Kleut (Men's Basketball), Jasmine McSwain (Women's Basketball), Lisa Espino (Women's Cross Country), Jon-Luke Cannada (Men's Soccer), James Romaniw (Men's Soccer), Alisa Black (Women's Soccer), Mallory Hawkes (Women's Soccer), Amber Milner (Women's Soccer), Jennifer Starvetsky (Women's Soccer), Julia Wells (Women's Soccer), Chelsea Hodges (Softball), Jordan Miller (Softball), Avery Purser (Softball), Stephen Moore (Men's Tennis), Eveniy Vinogradov (Men's Tennis), Carly Cangelosi (Women's Tennis), Syndee Smith (Women's Tennis), Melinda Vansant (Women's Tennis)

Bronze Scholars (19): Corey Benson (Baseball), Chase Burnfin (Baseball), Les Cromer (Baseball), Lane Dixon (Baseball), Davey King (Baseball), Daniel Lackey (Baseball), Tyler Gunnett (Men's Basketball), Cade Jones (Men's Soccer), Alli Canganelli (Women's Soccer), Amanda Canganelli (Women's Soccer), Cheryl Sloggy (Women's Soccer), Mason Moreland (Softball), Logan Smith (Softball), Kiley Doster (Softball), Thomas Cangelosi (Men's Tennis), Chris Eastwood (Men's Tennis), Mathew Vansant (Men's Tennis), Jessica Rigdon (Women's Tennis), Victoria Ondo (Women's Tennis)

Presidential Scholars (14): Neal Chambless (Baseball), John Duran (Baseball), Logan Holland (Baseball), Ryan Mosley (Baseball), Kyle Nobles (Baseball), J.P. Griffin (Men's Golf), Andrew Ritchot (Men's Golf), Linda Esparza (Women's Cross Country), Pablo Lajeunesse (Men's Soccer), Amber Bahri (Women's Soccer), Kacy Stuart (Women's Soccer), Valentin Demande (Men's Tennis), Kalie Douberly (Women's Tennis), Katherine Jones (Women's Tennis)