A Record 71 GSW Student-Athletes Named To PBC Presidential Honor Roll

A Record 71 GSW Student-Athletes Named To PBC Presidential Honor Roll

AMERICUS - The Peach Belt Conference announced Thursday afternoon that a record-breaking 1,447 student-athletes had been named to the 2013-14 Presidential Honor Roll with a total of 71 Georgia Southwestern student-athletes earning the honor, a 4.4 percent increase for GSW from last year's total and the highest total for the Hurricanes since joining the league in 2006.  

The Hurricane baseball team placed the greatest number of student-athletes on the list (15) for the third-straight year. The men's soccer program had 13 members recognized. Softball and women's soccer followed with 10 apiece.

The men's golf team led all GSW programs with the highest percentage of its roster on the Presidential Honor Roll in 2013-14 to dethrone back-to-back champion women's tennis. The golf program saw six of its seven members (86 percent) receive distinction. Below is a list of the top five programs according to percentage of their roster receiving the PBC honor:

Rank Sport Percent of Athletes on Honor Roll
1 Men's Golf
2 Women's Tennis 80.00
4 Men's Soccer 54.17
5 Baseball 53.57

The Presidential Honor Roll recognizes all student-athletes at the 14 PBC member institutions who had a GPA of 3.0 or higher for the academic year.

The honor roll has been divided into four groups: Presidential Scholars, Bronze Scholars, Silver Scholars and Gold Scholars. All student-athletes with a GPA from 3.0 to 3.24 are Presidential Scholars while Bronze Scholars are 3.25 to 3.49; Silver 3.50 to 3.74 and Gold Scholars are those with a 3.75 to 4.00.

Listed below is the complete list of GSW academic honorees in the 2013-14 Peach Belt Conference Presidential Honor Roll:

Gold Scholars (12): Myles Gay (Baseball), Chris Campos (Men's Golf), Anders Olsson (Men's Golf), Nicholas Ward (Men's Golf), Tiara Thompson (Women's Basketball), David Gomez (Men's Soccer), Caleb Graves (Men's Soccer), Hayley Knight (Softball), Jordan Miller (Softball), Rachel McElroy (Softball), Nellie Moore (Softball), Jamie Thomas (Women's Tennis)

Silver Scholars (20):  Corey Benson (Baseball), Les Cromer (Baseball), William Redding (Baseball), Earl Dupree (Baseball), Lisa Espino (Women's Cross Country), Jacob Brabham (Men's Soccer), Jon-Luke Cannada (Men's Soccer), Cesar Espinoza (Men's Soccer), Kendal Baskin (Women's Soccer), Jessica Bingham (Women's Soccer), Kristi Sheridan (Women's Soccer), Julia Wells (Women's Soccer), Ashley Clifton (Softball), Chelsea Hodges (Softball), Erin Steele (Softball), Stephen Moore (Men's Tennis), Victoria Ondo (Women's Tennis), Anna Kay Shaw (Women's Tennis), Elyse Gowen (Women's Tennis), Syndee Smith (Women's Tennis)

Bronze Scholars (24): Neal Chambless (Baseball), Mitchell Holloway (Baseball), Gabe Selochan (Baseball), Josh Tatnall (Baseball), Jarrod Taylor (Baseball), Fraser Johnston (Men's Golf), Nick Ray (Men's Golf), Adrian Knight (Men's Basketball), Alejandra Anderson (Women's Basketball), Jasmine McSwain (Women's Basketball), Raven Martin (Women's Cross Country), Avery Alderman (Men's Soccer), Brennan Bauschka (Men's Soccer), Charlie Curran (Men's Soccer), Pablo Lajeunesse (Men's Soccer), Jose Samayoa (Men's Soccer), Taylor Herron (Women's Soccer), Amber Milner (Women's Soccer), Courtney Simpson (Women's Soccer), Carley Cangelosi (Women's Tennis), Ashley Cavender (Softball), Sara Moreland (Softball), Mary Beth Wilson (Softball), Joel Landis (Men's Tennis)

Presidential Scholars (15): Evan Alderman (Baseball), Nick Fonseca (Baseball), Zach Moss (Baseball), Daniel Perez (Baseball), Matt Suggs (Baseball), Jungsun Peter Lee (Men's Golf), Ron Calle (Men's Soccer), Jason Gatreu (Men's Soccer), Colby Smith (Men's Soccer), Kaylee Krohn (Women's Soccer), Colleen Livings (Women's Soccer), Kristin McDonald (Women's Soccer), Kalie Douberly (Women's Tennis), Lauren Resnick (Women's Tennis), Josh Birchfield (Men's Basketball)