Whitman named to All-Peach Belt team

Whitman named to All-Peach Belt team

Georgia Southwestern starting pitcher Zach Whitman was named to the 2009 All-Peach Belt Conference second team as announced by the PBC office this weekend.

Whitman, a junior from Harrisburg, Pa., made 13 starts this spring for the 'Canes and led the pitching staff in several categories, including: ERA (3.86), opponents batting average (.284), innings pitched (86.1) and strikeouts (67). 

The Gloucester County College (NJ) transfer threw two shutouts this year, including the PBC finale at Columbus State. Whitman finished the regular season fifth in the PBC in strikeouts, fifth in innings pitched and 11th in ERA. He was named the week 12 PBC Pitcher of the Week on April 27.

Whitman becomes the first GSW baseball player to receive all-conference honors since the university joined the NCAA in 2006-07 as Division II members. 

Augusta State's Shannon Wilkerson was named the Player of the Year while UNC Pembroke's Matt McGovern the Pitcher of the Year. USC Aiken's Stephen Carmon is the Freshman of the Year while his head coach, Kenny Thomas, was named the Coach of the Year. In all, 32 players were named to the newly expanded All-Conference Team.

The 2009 baseball All-Conference team was selected by the league's 10 head coaches, who were not permitted to vote for their own players.

First Team

1b - Ken Raborn, USC Aiken

2b - Jason Coker, UNC Pembroke

3b - Andre Airich, North Georgia

SS - Barret Kleinknecht, Francis Marion

C - Jared Barkdoll, Francis Marion

OF - Kevin Dietrich, UNC Pembroke

OF - Cody McMorris, USC Aiken

OF - Shannon Wilkerson, Augusta State

OF - Alex Wyche, Armstrong Atlantic State

DH - Travis Howard, USC Aiken

UT - Seth Kivett, UNC Pembroke

SP - Jarrett Coker, Columbus State

SP - Matt McGovern, UNC Pembroke

SP - Cody Walden, Armstrong Atlantic State

SP - David Walters, Francis Marion

RP - Martin Dewald, GCSU

Second Team

1b - Kenny Cail, Armstrong Atlantic State

2b - Brooks Robinson, GCSU

3b - Keon Graves, Francis Marion

SS - Chandler Snell, GCSU

C - Brian Gordon, Columbus State

OF - Sean Harrell, GCSU

OF - Bud Lanier, Lander

OF - Alex Montes, Columbus State

OF - Tim Rawlings, Augusta State

DH - Jacob Wallace, Francis Marion

UT - Brad Hall, North Georgia

SP - Thomas Gray, Armstrong Atlantic State

SP - Phillip Robinson, Columbus State

SP - Steven Spire, USC Aiken

SP - Zach Whitman, Georgia Southwestern

RP - Brandon Forshee, Francis Marion

Player of the Year

Shannon Wilkerson, Augusta State

Pitcher of the Year

Matt McGovern, UNC Pembroke

Freshman of the Year 

Stephen Carmon, USC Aiken

Coach of the Year 

Kenny Thomas, USC Aiken