Kranick Named All-Peach Belt Conference

Kranick Named All-Peach Belt Conference

FLORENCE, S.C. - Georgia Southwestern State University infielder Alex Kranick was named to the 2017 All-Peach Belt Conference baseball second team on Tuesday evening at a banquet on the campus of Francis Marion University, site of this year's Peach Belt baseball championship tournament.

Kranick, a senior from Tampa, Fla., started all 46 games this spring for the Hurricanes and led the team in several categories, including: batting average (.413), hits (76), total bases (95) and doubles (14). His 20 multi-hit games were a team best and he shattered the school record with a 30-game hitting streak. He finished the regular season ranked third in the Peach Belt in batting average, sixth in hits and 10th in walks.

Kranick becomes the first infielder in program history to earn All-Peach Belt honors and the first GSW player at any position since 2011. 

The 2017 All-Conference team is listed below as selected by the league's head coaches.

2017 Peach Belt Conference Baseball
All-Conference Team

First Team

1b Mason McClellan Columbus State
2b Michael Bell North Georgia
3b Cal Gentry Georgia College
SS Brandon Benson Georgia College
C Brian Perreira USC Aiken
DH Ryan Patterson Armstrong State
UT Zach Odom Young Harris
OF Michael Gouge North Georgia
OF Mitchell Price USC Aiken
OF Dylan Jones Flagler
OF Mike Warren Armstrong State
SP Joseph Benitez USC Aiken
SP Steven Bower North Georgia
SP Dylan Peppers North Georgia
SP Caleb Kutsche Columbus State
RP Kyle Ramsey UNC Pembroke

Second Team

1b Sebastian Samuels Montevallo
1b Ethan Baucom UNC Pembroke
2b Caleb Ledbetter Montevallo
3b Devin Gearhart North Georgia
3b Alex Kranick Georgia Southwestern
SS Connor Hoover North Georgia
C Brandon Purcell Georgia College
DH Bill Leroy North Georgia
UT Ethan Crout Flagler
UT Jarratt Mobley UNC Pembroke
OF Wesley Wommack Georgia College
OF Logan Mattix Georgia College
OF Nick Debo UNC Pembroke
OF Roberto Rivera UNC Pembroke
SP Daniel McCrary North Georgia
SP Michael Maiocco Flagler
SP Anthony Burke UNC Pembroke
SP Michael Livingston Young Harris
RP Josh Bryan North Georgia
RP Grant Khan Georgia College


Elite 15 Award Presented by EAB
Nick Debo, UNC Pembroke

Player of the Year
Brandon Benson, Georgia College

Pitcher of the Year
Joseph Benitez, USC Aiken

Freshman of the Year
Sebastian Samuels, Montevallo

Coach of the Year
Tom Cantrell, North Georgia