Kranick Earns All-Region Honorable Mention

Kranick Earns All-Region Honorable Mention

AMERICUS, Ga. - Georgia Southwestern State University infielder Alex Kranick earned honorable mention on the National Collegiate Baseball Writers of America (NCBWA) 2017 All-Southeast Region baseball team released Wednesday evening.

Kranick, a senior from Tampa, Fla., started all 49 games this spring for the Hurricanes and led the team in several categories, including: batting average (.417), hits (83), total bases (104) and doubles (16). His 22 multi-hit games were a team best and he shattered the school record with a 30-game hitting streak. He finished the regular season ranked third in the Peach Belt in batting average, sixth in hits and 10th in walks.

Kranick tied the Peach Belt Conference Tournament record for most hits in a game with his 5-for-6 performance against Columbus State on May 11. He becomes the first player in program history to earn postseason recognition from the NCBWA. 

The entire 2017 All-Southeast Region team is listed below.


First Team

Starting Pitcher: Joseph Benitez, Sr., USC Aiken
Starting Pitcher: Austin Hutchison, Sr., Mount Olive
Starting Pitcher: Thomas St. Clair, Sr., Lenoir-Rhyne (N.C.)
Relief Pitcher: Zach Mozingo, Sr., Mount Olive (N.C.)
Catcher: Andrew Webster, Sr., Barton College (N.C.)
First Base: Mason McClellan, Jr., Columbus State (Ga.)
Second Base: Hunter Merrill, Sr., Mars Hill (N.C.)
Third Base: Chase Allen, So., Limestone College (S.C.)
Shortstop: Brandon Benson, Sr., Georgia College
Outfield: Nick Beinlich, Jr., Belmont-Abbey College (N.C.)
Outfield: Michael Gouge, Sr., North Georgia
Outfield: Luke Setzer, Jr., Catawba College (N.C.)
Designated Hitter: Zach Mozingo, Sr., Mount Olive (N.C.)
Utility: Calvin Hawke, Sr., Barton College (N.C.)

Second Team

Starting Pitcher: Caleb Kutsche, Sr., Columbus State (Ga.)
Starting Pitcher: Daniel McCrary, Jr., North Georgia
Starting Pitcher: Bruce Zimmerman, Sr., Mount Olive (N.C.)
Relief Pitcher: Bryan Blanton, Jr., Catawba College (N.C.)
Catcher: Zach Almond, Jr., Catawba College (N.C.)
First Base: Drew Ellis, Jr., Mount Olive (N.C.)
Second Base: Kyle Smith, Jr., Catawba College (N.C.)
Third Base: Cal Gentry, Fr., Georgia College
Shortstop: Connor Hoover, Jr., North Georgia
Outfield: Logan Augustine, Jr., Lincoln Memorial (Tenn.)
Outfield: Mitchell Price, Sr., USC Aiken
Outfield: Mike Warren, Jr., Armstrong State (Ga.)
Designated Hitter: Ryan Patterson, Sr., Armstrong State (Ga.)
Utility: Colin Rosenbaum, Jr., Belmont-Abbey College (N.C.)

Honorable Mention

Pitcher:Steven Bower, So., North Georgia; Tuker Burgess, So., North Greenville (S.C.); Anthony Burke, Jr., UNC Pembroke; Ethan Carpenter, Sr., Tusculum (Tenn.); Tim Hardy, So., Tusculum (Tenn.); Michael Livingston, Jr., Young Harris College (Ga.); Dylan Peppers, Sr., North Georgia.
First Base: Ethan Baucom, Fr., UNC Pembroke; Sebastian Samuels, Fr., Montevallo (Ala.); Timmy Wages, Sr., Lincoln Memorial (Tenn.).
Second Base: Michael Bell, Sr., North Georgia; Caleb Ledbetter, Jr., Montevallo (Ala.)
Third Base: Alex Kranick, Sr., Georgia Southwestern; Zach Scudder, Sr., Pfeiffer (N.C.); John Topoleski, Sr., Tusculum (Tenn.).
Shortstop: Tyler Adams, Fr., Lincoln Memorial (Tenn.); Ricky Surum, Sr., Mount Olive (N.C.).
Outfield: Ryan Addington, Sr., Carson-Newman (Tenn.); Brett Brubaker, So., Mars Hill (N.C.); Nick Debo, Sr., UNC Pembroke; Garrett Lowery, Sr., Limestone College (S.C.); Logan Mattix, Jr., Georgia College; David Mayo, Sr., Mount Olive (N.C.); Roberto Rivera, Jr., UNC Pembroke; Clark Scolamiero, Jr., North Greenville; Daymon Totherow, Sr., Newberry (S.C.).
Designated Hitter: Ben Herring, Jr., Newberry (S.C.); Bill Leroy, Fr., North Georgia.
Utility: Jarratt Mobley, Fr., UNC Pembroke; Zach Odom, Sr., Young Harris College (Ga.)