Brown, Macon, Slotter and Leeder receive PBC awards

Brown, Macon, Slotter and Leeder receive PBC awards

By Ken Gerlinger
Peach Belt Conference

AIKEN, S.C. - The Peach Belt Conference announced the 2010-11 men's basketball All-Conference team at a banquet in Aiken, S.C., home of the PBC Tournament. Georgia Southwestern, in the midst of their best season in the NCAA, took three of the four major awards with Phillip Brown being named the league's Player of the Year; Colin Slotter the Freshman of the Year and coach Mike Leeder the Coach of the Year. USC Aiken's Alvin Brown was named the conference Defensive Player of the Year. In all, 15 players were named
to either the first, second or third team.

Phillip Brown was the focal point of Georgia Southwestern's rise to the top seed in the west division and a national ranking. The junior from Jonesboro, Ga., was named a PBC Player of the Week three times this year after averaging 15.1 points and 11.3 rebounds per game. He led the PBC in rebounding and his 11.3 average, if maintained through the end of the year, would be the second-highest in a single season in PBC history. He grabbed 22 rebounds against North Georgia on Feb. 19, the fifth-highest single-game total in league history and had 13 double-doubles this season. He also led the league with a .636 field goal percentage, was third in blocks and ninth in scoring. Brown becomes the first Georgia Southwestern player, in any sport, to be named a PBC Player of the Year since the school joined the
league for the 2006-07 season.

Colin Slotter becomes the second GSW student-athlete to ever be named a PBC Freshman of the Year. Evan Mobley won the award in 2008-09. A 6-5 guard from Marietta, Ga., Slotter led the team and was ranked seventh in the PBC with 15.6 points per game. He scored 20 or more seven times this year, including in his last three games, and hit a career-high with 23 points on three occasions, including Tuesday's PBC Quarterfinal win over Clayton State.  Slotter is seventh in the PBC in three-point shooting percentage and his scoring average was increased by over a point per game against league competition.

Mike Leeder had the unenviable task of bringing Georgia Southwestern men's basketball out of the NAIA and into the Peach Belt Conference in 2006. Since that time, the team has steadily improved and this year captured their first #1 seed in the west division. In his fifth year at the helm of the Hurricanes, Leeder has his team poised to make their first NCAA Tournament appearance with a 20-7 overall record heading into the PBC semifinals. GSW also earned their first DII national rankings this year, rising as high as #16 in the nation. Leeder becomes the first Georgia Southwestern head coach to be named a PBC Coach of the Year.

The 2010-11 All-Conference team was selected by the league's head coaches. Coaches were not permitted to vote for their own players.

Men's Basketball All-Conference Team

First Team
Phillip Brown, Georgia Southwestern
Timmy Downs, Clayton State
George Johnson, Augusta State
Franck Ndongo, Augusta State
Brandon Robinson, Clayton State

Second Team
Byron Faison, USC Aiken
Trayce Macon, Georgia Southwestern
Carl Taylor, North Georgia
Liki Turner, Francis Marion
Reece Wiedeman, Georgia College

Third Team
Shahmel Brackett, UNC Pembroke
Antoine Davis, Montevallo
John Pietkiewicz, Flagler
Colin Slotter, Georgia Southwestern
Chris Vanlandingham, Armstrong Atlantic State

Freshman of the Year: Colin Slotter, Georgia Southwestern
Defensive Player of the Year: Alvin Brown, USC Aiken
Player of the Year: Phillip Brown, Georgia Southwestern
Coach of the Year: Mike Leeder, Georgia Southwestern