Brown named to D-II Bulletin Super 16

Brown named to D-II Bulletin Super 16

AMERICUS - Georgia Southwestern senior forward Phillip Brown has been named to the 2011-12 Division II Bulletin Super 16 All-American Preseason Team.  

The Super 16 divides the country into eight regions with two players named award winners in each region. Brown joins Desmond Mason from Lincoln Memorial University as a Southeast Region selection. 

Brown spearheaded GSW's dramatic turnaround last season as the Peach Belt Conference Player of the Year and an All-Conference First Team selection. He was named the PBC Player of the Week on three occasions and finished the year averaging 14.7 points and 10.9 rebounds per game. Brown shot 62.9 percent from the field, leading the PBC in both rebounding and field goal percentage. He ranked second in the conference in blocked shots and finished 11th in scoring.

Brown ranked near the top of D-II in several categories, as well, including rebounds per game (fifth), field goal percentage (13th) and blocks (21st).

The 6-foot-7 Jonesboro native recorded 14 double-doubles last season and scored in double-figures on 24 occasions. In addition, he pulled down double-figure rebounds 16 times.

Brown was the first student-athlete in GSW history to be named an NCAA All-American when he was selected to the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) State Farm Coaches' All-America Team in March.

He was named to the 2011-12 Sporting News NCAA Division II Men's Basketball Preseason All-America First Team in September.

The Hurricanes open the 2011-12 regular season at home Nov. 15 against Trinity (Fla.) College.

Division II Bulletin Super 16 All-American Preseason Team
Atlantic Region
Trevin Parks (Johnson C. Smith)
Patrick Grubbs (Pitt-Johnstown)

East Region
Isaiah Wallace (American International)
Stefan Bonneau (C.W. Post)

Midwest Region
Braydon Hobbs (Bellarmine)
Mike Hollingsworth (Wayne State)

Central Region
Cody Schilling (Augustana)
Reggie Evans (Metro State)

South Region
Zane Campbell (Alabama-Huntsville)
Marcus Goode (Benedict)

Southeast Region
Phillip Brown (Georgia Southwestern)
Desmond Mason (Lincoln Memorial)

South Central Region
L.A. Farmer (Arkansas Monticello)
Lionel Foster (West Texas A&M)

West Region
Jet Chang (BYU-Hawaii)
Taylor Rohde (Alaska Anchorage)