Hooke named All-Conference

Hooke named All-Conference

AMERICUS - Georgia Southwestern senior Sam Hooke was recently selected to the 2010 men’s soccer All-Peach Belt Conference Second Team.

Starting all 15 matches this fall, Hooke anchored the Hurricane defense and played a team-high 1269 minutes. He had an assist and two goals, including the game-winner at Brewton-Parker on Sept. 15.

For his career, he finished with three goals and a school-record six assists.

Hooke, a Buford native, appeared in 68 matches - a GSW record - and his 59 starts is second all-time.

Clayton State swept all three major awards as Ryan Pugh was named the Player of the Year, Arturo Cruz the Freshman of the Year and Pete Petersen the Coach of the Year.

The PBC named 24 student-athletes to the all-conference team with 12 receiving first-team honors and 12 being named to the second squad.

The 2010 All-Conference team is listed below as selected by the league's head coaches. Coaches were not permitted to vote for their own players.

 2010 Men’s Soccer All-Conference Team

First Team

Nathaniel Foster, Montevallo
Ryan Pugh, Clayton State
Brett Van Pelt, USC Aiken

Johan Bergfeld, Flagler
Matty Phillips, Clayton State
Milan Pualic, Montevallo
Joseph Toby, Flagler

Ben Chedgy, North Georgia
Igor Lukic, Clayton State
Austin McIntosh, Montevallo

Matt Gilman, Flagler
Rade Tanaskovic, North  Georgia

Second Team

Alex Blandin, Francis Marion
Aaron Brittain, Lander
Gray Phelps, North Georgia

Jamie Davison, Lander
Craig Hughes, Lander
Juan Hurtado, North Georgia

Will Frandsen, Flagler
Sam Hooke, Georgia Southwestern
Brett Neilson, Clayton State
Gary O’Neill, Montevallo

Brian Garcia, Clayton State
Brendan Ledgeway, Montevallo

Player of the Year
Ryan Pugh, Clayton State

Freshman of the Year
Arturo Cruz, Clayton State

Coach of the Year
Pete Petersen, Clayton State