Buck receives All-Peach Belt honors

Buck receives All-Peach Belt honors

Georgia Southwestern freshman Gabby Buck was named to the Peach Belt Conference 2009 All-Conference second team as announced Thursday evening at the annual PBC Softball Championship banquet in Flor­ence, S.C.

Buck, a second baseman, leads the Lady Hurricanes in several offensive categories, including: batting average (.331 - she ranks 15th in the PBC), on-base percentage (.366) and hits (48).

The Fayetteville, Ga. native is hitting .333 this spring with runners in scoring position. She has a .339 batting average in Peach Belt games, with a .362 on-base percentage.

Buck started all 46 games and held her own on the defensive side, as well, compiling a .951 fielding per­centage.

Georgia College & State University's Sherquita Bostick was named the conference Player of the Year for the second straight season. North Georgia's Sarah Phillips was se­lected as the Pitcher of the Year and Augusta State's Kacee Camp the Freshman of the Year. North Georgia coach Mike Davenport was named the Coach of the Year.

The 2009 All-Conference team was expanded this year with nearly double the number of award winners split into a first and second team. The 2009 first team has 18 members thanks to ties at the DP/UT and outfield positions, leaving 14 members on the second team.

The 2009 All-Conference team is listed below as selected by the league's head coaches. Coaches were not permitted to vote for their own players.

First Team

1b - Nicole Huddleston, Armstrong Atlantic State

2b - Christie Thompson, Columbus State

3b - Jelena Shaw, UNC Pembroke

SS - Kacee Camp, Augusta State

C - Jessica Strickland, USC Aiken

C - Sara Moore, Columbus State

OF - Sherquita Bostick, GCSU

OF - Courtney McGuire, NGCSU

OF - Pilar Harden, NGCSU

OF - April Jowers, Columbus State

OF - Sam Floyd, Armstrong Atlantic State - Sarah Phillips, North Georgia

P - Mandy Chandler, GCSU

P - Toni Flessate, USC Aiken

P - Emily Headrick, Armstrong Atlantic State

DP/UT - Leslee Smith, North Georgia

DP/UT - Jessica Thornton, Augusta State

DP/UT - Laura Hauff, Francis Marion

Second Team

1b - Tonya Medders, GCSU

2b - Gabby Buck, Georgia Southwestern

3b - Megan Lakes, USC Aiken

SS - Lauren Locklear, USC Aiken

C - Alysha Krier, Augusta State

C - Anna Parker, GCSU

OF - Morgan Patrick, UNC Pembroke

OF - Jessica Birchmeier, Francis Marion

OF - Jessica Strong, Armstrong Atlantic State

P - Sara DeMuth, Augusta State - Michaela Wolf, Francis Marion

P - Lauren Bubeck, Francis Marion

P - Hayley Leissner, Lander

DP/UT - Ginny Walsh, Columbus State

Player of the Year

Sherquita Bostick, GCSU

Pitcher of the Year

Sarah Phillips, North Georgia

Freshman of the Year

Kacee Camp, Augusta State

Coach of the Year

Mike Davenport, North Georgia