Buck named All-Peach Belt for second straight year

Buck named All-Peach Belt for second straight year

FLORENCE, S.C. - Georgia Southwestern sophomore Gabby Buck was named to the 2010 Peach Belt Conference softball All-Conference second team on Thursday evening at the annual PBC Softball Championship banquet. It's the second-consecutive year Buck has received the honor. 

Buck, a catcher/outfielder, led the Lady Hurricanes in most offensive categories, including: batting average (.355 - which ranks 13th in the PBC), runs (36 - 10th in the PBC), hits (54 - 7th in the PBC), doubles (15 - leads the conference), total bases (81- ranks ninth in PBC), slugging percentage (.533), and on-base percentage (.424).

The Fayetteville, Ga. native hit .360 this spring with runners in scoring position and was 3-for-4 with the bases loaded. 

Buck started all 51 games and held her own on the defensive side, as well, compiling a .987 fielding per­centage, while committing only one error all season.

UNC Pembroke’s Jelena Shaw was named the PBC Player of the Year while North Georgia’s Sarah Phillips was the Pitcher of the Year.  UNCP’s Holly Berry was the Freshman of the Year while North Georgia’s Mike Davenport was named the PBC Coach of the Year.  

The 2010 All-Conference team is listed below as selected by the league's head coaches. Coaches were not permitted to vote for their own players.

2010 PBC Softball All-Conference Team

First Team

1b - Nicole Huddleston, Armstrong Atlantic State
2b - April Jowers, Armstrong Atlantic State
3b - Jelena Shaw, UNC Pembroke
SS - Holly Berry, UNC Pembroke
C - Rocky Hemmer, Columbus State
OF - Lauren Dykes, North Georgia
OF - Kristen Jones, Augusta State
OF - Marilyn Newman, Lander
P - Sarah Phillips, North Georgia
P - Sara DeMuth, Augusta State
DP - Leslee Smith, North Georgia
UT - Jessica Thornton, Augusta State

Ashley Jaramillo, Francis Marion
Amber Janus, Armstrong Atlantic St.
Hilary Cox, North Georgia
Toni Flessate, USC Aiken
Second Team

1b - Haley Burnett, GCSU
2b - Laura Voyles, North Georgia
3b - Baillie Temples, Armstrong Atlantic St.
SS - Brittany Leverett, Columbus State
C - Gabby Buck, Georgia Southwestern
OF - Destinea Schneider, Francis Marion
OF - Brittney Hatem, Flagler
OF - Belourse Jean-Francis, GCSU
P - Hayley Leissner, Lander
P - Kelly Riddick, Flagler
DP - Kelley King, USC Aiken
UT - Shelby Duff, Armstrong Atlantic St.

Loren Bartz, UNC Pembroke
Megan Barnwell, Armstrong Atlantic St.
Ashley Buckett, Armstrong Atlantic St.
Lauren Locklear, USC Aiken

Player of the Year
Jelena Shaw, UNC Pembroke

Pitcher of the Year
Sarah Phillips, North Georgia

Freshman of the Year
Holly  Berry, UNC Pembroke

Coach of the Year
Mike Davenport, North Georgia